TOBY Awards

BOMA San Diego hosts an annual awards competition to recognize excellence in the commercial building management industry. The Outstanding Building Of The Year (TOBY) competition is held in conjunction with BOMA International. Winners of the local San Diego competition advance to the regional competition and finally advance to the international competition.

The prestigious TOBY Award is bestowed as the highest mark of excellence for building management and is the most all-inclusive program in the commercial real estate industry. All facets of a building's operations are thoroughly evaluated during the judging process by a panel comprised of industry professionals, including architects and commercial building managers.

The criteria for the local TOBY Award depends on the type of entry. Entry requirements can be found 
here and judges scoring sheets are below based on category:

  1. Retail Category Judging Criteria
  2. Earth Category Judging Criteria
  3. Industrial Category Judging Criteria
  4. Judging Criteria for all other Categories

Local TOBY Competition Information

Please review the TOBY Entry Requirements (ignoring the scoring as that is for regionals) and should you wish to enter, please contact Christy Mickel of Cushman & Wakefield or Katie Blizzard Kiedrowski of Four Seasons Tree Care.

Review the online application submission process here


2017 Local TOBY Winners

Category: 100,000 – 249,000 SF 
Nobel Executive Center
Managed by: CBRE
Owned by: Property Reserve, Inc.


Category: 500,000 – 1,000,000 SF 
The Plaza
Managed & Owned by: Irvine Company Office Properties

Category: Earth 
La Jolla Commons II
Managed by: Hines

Owned by: JP Morgan

2016 Local TOBY Winners


Category: Under 100,000 SF
OncoSec Facility
Managed by: Jane Green, Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc.
Owned by: Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc.

Category: 100,000 - 249,999 SF
2305 Historic Decatur
Managed by: Tracie Meade, Kilroy Realty Corporation
Owned by: Kilroy Realty Corporation

Category: Earth
Spectrum Collection, Building I
Managed by: Jason Moorehead & Corinne Aylor, Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc.
Owned by: Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc.


For more information about the TOBY awards program, please contact the TOBY Awards Committee Chair Janelle Duff of Kilroy Realty Corporation.